Marxdorf scenario

I'm new at CMBB, and my grand weakness is Armor tactics. Common sense tells me that hitting enemy tanks from the flanks, thereby allowing you to hit them from the side/rear, is the idea. What I'm quickly (and violently) learning, though, is that getting to a flanking position is sometimes impossible, and I'm at a loss as to what to do. My best example: the Marxdorf scenario. I'm playing 1-player as the Allies. As you might recall, a boatload of Soviet tanks come down a narrow, wooded pipeline. You have to take this narrow path to a clearing, before you can zip to the town to reinforce Soviet infantry. The problem: there's one pesky Tiger Tank with an awfully accurate 88mm main gun. The T34 shells don't do much harm to it from the 1000 meters distance. The Tiger, though, is deadly accurate & potent even from that distance. What's the best approach to evading/destroying the Tiger?

Thanks, Brendan

Originally posted by Webs:

Got smoke?

Nope! I've played this one as the Allies and they aint got no smoke. The T-34 is not equipped with smoke at any point in the war, AFAIK, though it would certainly come in handy, and there's no FO to provide smoke, eitherl. The best thing you can probably do, given the narrow place the tanks have to funnel through, is back up and avoid the enemy tank and try to win the battle with your other units. Frustrating, but better than having several platoons of tanks die uselessly.

*****SPOILER*****