Thoughts on Scenarios

Lets get this straight, I have never designed them in my life and generally I do not play them that often, however as I have probably played 200 + games not often is still a few.

I started playing in the early days of CMBO we would have weekends with four of us playing TCP/IP LAN games and believe me you can learn an awful lot watching games where you see both sides at once. And playing one or two minute turns you get through a lot of battles. Anyway so I tend to play fast. So that’s my background for the comments I am going to make:

Now I actually have enormous respect for those people who do scenarios and the effort they put in. If this comes over purely as a knocking piece that is not the case. All things are improved by people putting their views and kicking the ideas about to see if they are valid or not.

My biggest gripe about scenarios is that they come with an agenda. I will explain that. If you play an ME , excluding random forces, you know roughly what the other guy has to choose from and you know where the flags are. Good or bad you know the computer has no bias.

In a designed game you have more operating. The designer may have conceptions of what happened in a particular battle , or he may like designing maps and then makes a battle based on what he thinks will work.

To the player of the manufactured scenario he now is not only playing an opponent but the designer and possibly the play testers who may or may not have tweaked it “right”.

I will run through the types of design[er]

1. I want it balanced therefore I build a symmetric map

2. I want it balanced I give them equal tanks [ I always think of these two as placing one tank each on the end of a very long bridge with the flag in the middle giving undoubtedly a symmetric map and equal forces ]

3. I am going to recreate a historical incident to the best of my ability. That it is not winnable for both sides is immaterial to my aim.