Jump to content

Rail Conversion in Russia


pzgndr
 Share

Recommended Posts

OK, here's a minor "historical accuracy" thing to add to a list somewhere. I've noticed if you DOW Russia early enough that Riga is undefended and you march a corps up there, you can then operationally move units to Riga, including adjacent hexes beyond Riga. This is neat. However, with rail gauge differences in Russia which required Germans to convert the rail lines, it's not accurate. At least for Russian controlled areas, the rule should be that operational movement is only valid to hexes controlled at the start of the turn. It may be fair to make that a general rule to keep it simple, but really needs to be considered for Russia.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

OK thanks, the scorched earth option takes care of this, at least for the Germans and that's the main issue. However, rail conversion problems worked both ways and affected the Russian offensives in the later years, but not as much.

Being able to op move units to hexes not controlled at the start of your turn is still something to reconsider. It allows for some occassional gamey tactics but probably isn't a major issue with scorched earth on.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...