Tanks?

Aztecace

After playing awhile, (I am still a novice) I have come to to the conculsion that tanks are not worth it. They don't seem to do any more damage than a army and they seem to be pretty weak against any unit in a city or that is entrenched. Other than they move a bit faster I don't see the upside to buying tanks. It would seem to be a good idea just to by armies and put money into army tech. Any idea's on the subject.

Aztecace,

glad you are enjoying the game, but don't jump to quick conclusions in SC, for in reality "Tanks" can be very useful, depending on your opponents disposition. My fav. characteristic is the ability to ignore enemy ZoCs. I'll also mention their ability to withstand AF attack better than Corps/Armies and are very tough when entrenched. I almost never research them, preferring to keep their base cost at a minimum. They represent a viable alternative to infantry purchases, especially when AT research levels get high and the cost for armies and corps is heightened.

Benefits of tanks:

1. Tanks move faster (i.e. have more APs)

2. Tanks defend better against air (3 instead of 2/1 of armies/corps)

3. Tanks defend better against armies/corps (4 instead of 2/1 of armies/corps)

4. Tanks have it a little easier when attacking units on oil or mine (no defense bonus against tanks, 1 bonus against armies/corps)

The benefits 1 and 3 make for a powerful blizkrieg-tool.

The benefit 3 makes a strong defensive unit: put a tank in a city and let it entrench and its a hard nut to crack.

Note: defense values do not affect the defenders losses but a higher defense value increases the attackers losses.

Some drawbacks:

1. tanks can be attacked by other tanks with high attack values (from 5 upwards): fighting becomes costly.

2. tanks are ineffective in attacking ships at ports

3. tanks have it harder when attacking units in cities (defense bonus of 2 against tanks compared to 1 against armies/corps)