Canadian Armed Forces Rework

by Atlas

Picture library:   https://imgur.com/a/wZPsRCx

Introduction

Being a CAF soldier myself, it bothered me very much to see the vest used by the soldiers was not period correct (1982 pattern load bearing vest) and to me did not look the way I wanted my pixeltruppen to look.

I started from scratch my vest mod and this time I made a chest rig worn over the fragmentation vest. I decided this based on a photo I found from infanteers in Afghanistan (2008-2010) wearing chest rigs (see picture library). I have made and tested several versions and I finally completed the one I think looks best. I am not the best texture editor but I have spent several hours working on this project. I will give it to you soon, but first care for some history about the Canadian tactical vest?

History:

The CAF is known for using a two system armor carrier including a fragmentation vest and a separate load bearing vest.  However, the troops in Afghanistan did not like the 90s era issued vest very much. The problem is, it isn't nearly modular enough as it had fixed pouches, no MOLLE and simply can't haul enough gear required in the field without major jerry-rigging. Take the mags for example, the average combat load during the Afghan war was 10-12 mags per soldier and the vest can carry only four. On top of that, they are placed very high up on the chest, fully enclosed and hard to reach. The theory was that having the mags on the chest would protect soldiers which were hit in the lungs/heart area. The bullet would first have to pass through a steel mag and it’s ammo, essentially turning your reloads into somewhat of an armor. Except, we aren't in the 90s anymore, and we now have real purpose made armor plates.

It was a great idea at the time, but that time passed a long time ago.