KG Peiper - Stoumount... aka. sweet jesus..

Combat Mission Final Blitzkrieg was the first CM2 game that I have purchased. I remember playing the KG Peiper campaign and giving up halfway through cause i was a CM noob and the AI kept kicking my ass.

Couple years forward, I am now a semi-competent at the game, own all of the CM2 titles and finished most of the campaigns. 

I thought to myself, hey, you never got around completing the Peiper one, so lets do it!

The first 4mission went well, I could keep my losses to a minimum. Then comes mission 5, Stoumount..

OH MY GOD.

Contrary to what the briefing states ("you can approach the city unnoticed"), the 0 visibility is a real hinderance and and an incredibly deadly phenomenon (you practically have to bump into a tank to spot it). This, combined with the uneven terrain (the enemy is in oftentimes in defilades, and once in the city you cant really cover your inf when entering buildings), makes this map into a bloodbath. Oh and lets not forget that the force ratio is almost 1:1.

I was so frustrated that I started savescumming, sg. that I never do in CM. (I have just finished CMRT Broken Shield and the "long" Soviet campaign and had no issue achieving total victory without reloading once).

All in all, how do you tackle this scenario?? I took the southern approach, did some artillery preparation, entered the city, used suppressing fire, then killed anything that popped up with the panthers/whirebelwind/20mm. This approach ceased to be effective when you reach the "cathedral" and start meeting the enemy armor tucked away in the nooks and crannies of the city proper.

In urban terrain even more than anyplace else, follow the mantra...

Never send a team anywhere a scout hasn't been. Never send a squad anywhere a team hasn't been. Never send a platoon anywhere a squad hasn't been.

Never send armor anywhere infantry hasn't been.

When you have time and opportunity, never send anyone artillery hasn't been.