Does anyone think that the Dragon ATGMs in 1979 scenarios are too powerful?

markh

I have no military experience - I am just an enthusiastic reader of things military and wargaming so I am looking for feedback from gamers who have real world experience in this area.  I have read many articles about how "disappointing" the Dragons were/would have been in a shooting war.  

The following is from the relevant wikipedia article on Dragon ATGMs.

Penetration of the basic missile was disappointing, a mere 330mm.  While later variants would improve upon this, the missile was never particularly effective.

Dragon

The basic missile, the Dragon has a 1,000 meter range and penetrates 330mm of armor.

Dragon II

A simple warhead upgrade, the Dragon II, originally "Dragon PIP", received a new warhead that offered a 85% increase in penetration, to about 610mm. Dragon II entered service in 1988.

Therefore my understand is that the expectation was for a likely penetration capability of 330 mm of RHA in 1979.  However, when I create a scenario, my Dragon teams and squads equipped with Dragon are easily killing T64B and T72s at over 1000 meters in frontal encounters - penetration of front turrets and front hulls.  I understand that the T64B of 1979 vintage had frontal armor equivalents of between 500 to 570 mms against HEAT and T72s of 1979 vintage had frontal armor equivalents of between 490 to 500 mms against HEAT.  On that basis, my Dragons should not be regularly killing these vehicles.  However, in-game my Dragons are killing these tanks and creating catastrophic explosions and fires when they make hits.

Any thoughts or feedback would be appreciated.

Markh is right though - the Dragon *should* go through a T-62 in most or all aspects, but struggle against a T-64 or higher - that leap in armour protection is something the US wasn't prepared for, and it's a big reason why the M60A2 Starship was what it was.