Saved File Not Overriding

I started playing the American campaign yesterday, but found that the game would not override the save file if I used the same file name.  I accidently started with a real-time game, but then switched to turn based.  I played the first mission for about 15 minutes and kept saving with the same file name, but when I reloaded the game, it was back to turn one of my real-time game.

The Game creates tmp-Files in the “Documents\...\Cold War” Folder. I copied the latest tmp File to the “Saved Games” Folder and renamed it from *.tmp to *.bts. So I saved my last planning phase of 2 hours 😅

I hope it helps
Thomas

• 2 months later...
On 5/1/2021 at 5:47 PM, rogue189 said:

I started playing the American campaign yesterday, but found that the game would not override the save file if I used the same file name.  I accidently started with a real-time game, but then switched to turn based.  I played the first mission for about 15 minutes and kept saving with the same file name, but when I reloaded the game, it was back to turn one of my real-time game.

Try deleting your save file first via Explorer and then saving under the same name via the game.

FYI: @Monty's Mighty Moustache, @umlaut, @RigTom

On 7/8/2021 at 9:27 PM, IMHO said:

Try deleting your save file first via Explorer and then saving under the same name via the game.

FYI: @Monty's Mighty Moustache, @umlaut, @RigTom

In the biz we call that a workaround. It’s a naff one but I suppose it does work. I for one won’t be using it, I don’t want to have to switch over to the Explorer and delete the save game every time I want to save when it used to handle it for me perfectly well before. 90% of the time I would forget anyway :)

MMM

21 hours ago, Monty's Mighty Moustache said:

In the biz we call that a workaround. It’s a naff one but I suppose it does work.