AI - Couple of Questions

So, things are going pretty well at the moment. I'm studying the manuals, looking at scenarios that come with the sim/games in the Scenario Editor, and also watching a very good YouTube video by "proambulator" on AI Triggers, so things are starting to become more clear. I've also made/setup a couple more testbeds (so to speak) to test out what I'm learning and that's helping as well. I do have 2 questions for now, if you don't mind:

1. I saw in one or two unit editors for scenarios that come with the game, the designation "[R2...]". I understand [U"n" and A"n"] ("n" being number values for targets and groups respectively), but I've not found the meaning for the "R" designation. Can someone fill me in on that please?

2. Setups in the AI pane can be painted in on the map, but in the pre-made samples I've seen, they aren't painted. I do see them for Order 2 (and onward) if a unit is moving (these are the yellow painted squares I'm referring to). Is this a case where you would only paint in the setup zones if you have multiple plans where a given unit(s) might start from a different location in each plan? I do have a test scenario where I painted in a setup zone for a group but when I started the battle as the other side to test it, those units were still in the original place I placed them when deploying them. I only had one plan for the test group and it was set to Used Frequently. So I'm not sure why they didn't take up the new setup position in this case. Any clarifications on setup zones would be helpful in terms of when you paint them in.