PT 76

Sequoia

I'm no armor expert but it seems as if this light tank fell out of the Soviet TO&E shortly after our time frame. There aren't any in Shock Force either in the Syrian Army. Was it a dog?

Edited by Sequoia
Spelling

I believe the Russian Marines still field PT-76 is one form or another. Back-in-the-day PT-76 was the standard against which the US measured its own light armor. They cancelled multiple promising projects because it couldn't swim like PT-76 or was slower that PT-76 or or less well armed than PT-76. Eventually the US fielded the Sheridan with its awkward swimming screen and too-large-for-the-vehicle 152mm gun. In the game PT-76 is a sportscar but it suffers the fate of all lightly armed/armored vehicles on a battlefield dominated by MBTs.

Edited by MikeyD

36 minutes ago, Sequoia said:

I'm no armor expert but it seems as if this light tank fell out of the Soviet TO&E shortly after out time frame. There aren't any in Shock Force either in the Syrian Army. Was it a dog?

As you know, it is a light amphibious tank used in the Soviet Army for scouting purposes and already obsolescent (if not obsolete) by the early '80s.

I presume that it is included in CM:CW just because of this: being a standard asset of the recce elements of the army that the game narrative has on the strategic offensive, it is likely to be encountered in a typical meeting engagement scenario.

On the other hand, being the Syrian army on the strategic defensive in CM:SF, it would have serious difficulties (euphemism) in fulfilling its role in a battlefield dominated by US/NATO air/elint/antiarmour assets.

I just ran a little test scenario. I was able to hole a PT-76 straight through the turret from 1,950m. But as I was gloating over my victory I lost two M60A1s the same way from the same range from an unseen T-64B. So PT-76's vulnerabilities aren't as evident on a battlefield where EVERYBODY dies. :o