Campaigns

zmoney

As a CMBN noob, I get confused by all the CMXX variants.

Can someone point me at a summary of maybe what are the first scenario/battle/mods that I should add?

Note that at this point I am still preferring engagements of company size or smaller, otherwise my brain gets full.

Thanks in advance.

lee

There is no easy answer to that question.  You'll have to look at what mods are available and select the ones that you like the most for the game you want to play.  After that comes madness as you have to select from literally thousands of mods that are available.

Maybe select a scenario you want to play, then make a list of the units in that scenario, then go look for mods for those units.  Of course there are many UI, FX, SOUNDS, and TERRAIN mods that will work with all scenarios.  

3 hours ago, froggyluv said:

Also do Squads in the Campaigns gain experience from one mission to the next finally turning into Crack troops?

US Army, US Marines, German Army and Canadian Army campaigns have been revamped to take advantage of CMSF2 capabilities. The British Army and Dutch Army campaigns are still being worked on by part of the volunteer beta testers behind the scenes. Preview of the Dutch Campaign I posted last night:

As for you query, the answer is no. CM campaigns are still relatively small scale affairs and usually over a small time frame (a few days). A few days of combat doesn't turn a green horn into a crack commando. Those types of RPG elements are well outside the scope of CM.

A few days of combat doesn't turn a green horn into a crack commando. Those types of RPG elements are well outside the scope of CM.