Any flamethrower buffs here? Short range of German flame halftracks..

I'm a bit puzzled that the German flame halftracks (Spw 251/16) in CMFB have a range of only 33 metres?

Not saying it's necessarily wrong; I'm no expert. Just wondering how such a big vehicle mounted flame projector can have a range comparable to most WW2 infantry carried flamethrowers.

For example, the British "Lifebuoy" flamethrower had a range of 36 metres, and the German Flammenwerfer 41 had a range of 32 metres.

WW2 vehicle mounted FTs usually had ranges of well over 100 metres.

So what kept the halftrack flamethrower back? Was the design inefficient or was it because of the fuel?

20 minutes ago, Combatintman said:

Looks about right, a quick search indicates a range of 40m, so I guess the in-game model might be one Action Spot short.

Even if it were 40m, that's very short range for a vehicle flamethrower.

Wondering how they came up with the idea of an open top vehicle that had to get into hand grenade range to flush out enemy infantry...

Yeah they were pretty incompetent.. While the British had their halftracks equipped with Ronson and Wasp flamethrowers with 80m range, the Germans thought 33m was probably more than enough to win the war...

Either that, or somebody made a typo somewhere in a historical source, and 33m should be 83m :)

Maybe it's all down to a confusion between effective range and maximum range?

If most flamethrower ranges are measured by how far the furthest drops of fuel will go, and then this one is measured by where most of the fuel hasn't burnt in flight yet... then that would be two different yard sticks to go by.

That might also explain the very limited range of the machinegun given by the same source.