Credible small-unit missions?

I'm thinking about dabbling a bit in the editor, but I have no experience so wanted to do something small and reasonably easy.

But what would small units be asked to do on their own in Normandy? Say for example a platoon or even just a squad... would they go on patrols? If so, how could that be made into a credible, playable and enjoyable scenario in this game? I mean, just scouting out enemy positions and then withdrawing might not be all that fun. Not sure.

What would the victory conditions look like? How about enemy force strength?

One of the ideas I have is to make a mission that's basically a "move to contact" exercise, like the one Bil made, but with a LOT of different AI locations, so basically you could play it many times and never know where the enemy would be, thus making it essential to move using proper infantry tactics.

But not sure if such a mission could be given a credible backstory.

I can really encourage doing something in the editor - a ton of fun. Check out "Proambulator" on Youtube, great video tutorials.

How about a fictional encounter on D-Day morning, with all the scattered paratroopers making up small groups that ran into German positions. Can be small but interesting and not entirely implausible.

I was reading some AARs from the Italian campaign and found a nice account where a platoon plus Sherman were tasked with clearing a school and municipal building that had enemy MGs. The action took place in just a couple of city blocks and the objective was two buildings on opposite sides of a small square. You could easily do something similar in France.