What is it about Combat Mission games?

I'm having so much enjoyment with the CM series. After playing the FI demo a while back it prompted me to buy the WWII series of games and modules.

Have to say I'm enjoying the FI/GL and CMBN/CW/MG games more than RT at the moment :)

The games, when modded to hell with all bells and whistles is pretty outstanding. I like the fact it simply reminds me of all the tactical doctrine that was rammed into my head when I was a soldier, and which I in turn used to teach to others for many years...

WWII has always been a favourite subject, and the attention to detail, the planning involved, especially the getting down to ground level and looking at the terrain from the soldiers point of view and perspective before I make any decision, is something I love.

The ability to use mortars and artillery, the use and importance of keeping a comms link, LOS, the weather and terrain, just some of the things to keep checking before pressing that 'red' button, is pretty much keeping me enthralled, and will continue to do so :)

Was testing a scenario last night. It has a battalion force on my side advancing through woods. So in the midst of moving this pile of troops (as opposed to troops with piles, lots more grumbling there) I take a few rounds from an unknown source. Eventually my guys ID an enemy team and Lo and behold they have a radio. Not wanting to get stonked I immediately start hunting them. Took about 4 turns. I had a marksman team parallel them on the ridge line above and a couple teams to lay down suppressive fire across the intervening stream and another team to act as "beaters". Worked like a charm, the radio guy eventually broke cover to retreat and the marksman took him out.