What was the moment that got you hooked on this game?

Just wondering if you had any defining moment that made you like the game.

For me, it probably was when (as a complete beginner) I sent a squad running forward gung-ho style and a shell exploded quite far away from them, yet killed two guys.

At first, I looked tired at the screen, angry about the "bug". I mean, my guys were nowhere near the blast, the only way to explain something like that was if there had been some... ehhh... pieces of shrapnel...

Hmmmm!

I've loved the CM design philosophy since the very first game. It's great to see that the series has kept up with computing power to make each version of the engine more detailed, more realistic, and more intuitive.

For me the quintessential CM moment is when contact is made and my soldiers scramble to react on their own as my orders no longer make sense. It's something that's only possible with this kind of TacAI and fog of war.

The deciding moment for me was in one of the BO demos before the full game was released. I ran a Sherman around behind a patch of forest to get behind a Pz. IV. It got there and got off a shot at fairly close range but didn't get a kill. The Panzer started to slowly rotate its turret to lay its gun on me, so it was a race between my loader and the turret. When my guy won, there was great rejoicing in Mudville!

:D

Michael

It took me a while to get the hang of the CMBO demo. New way to think about controls, different instruction set, it all seemed confusing. Don't remember the exact ecstatic epiphany episode. I do remember I spent a long rainy afternoon playing the demo for hours with a big smile on my face. Wife walked past asking about the game. She said you must have gotten the hang of the instruction set because you have been "blowing the crap out of stuff!" She heard the explosions and gunfire coming out of the speakers. "You are going to buy this game aren't you? Sounds like you and your buddies on range day."