5-inch naval guns defeat VS bunker (and town house)

Just some thoughts about naval artillery now that I started playing Blue and Grey that opens on Omaha Beach.

I thought the destroyer's 5-inch guns would be able to crack the concrete bunkers, but despite many direct hits, I have yet to see any bunkers knocked out.

But ok, I know the German defenses at Omaha were very tough, and I guess that I'm simply not meant to be able to destroy the bunkers.

Then I noticed two direct naval hits on a small town house, with the house taking no damage... and I thought I would ask here: Has naval artillery been toned down in some patch due to multiplayer balance issues? Or did I encounter a rare bug of some sort? Or is it working as designed ?

Well, I've seen small arms finish off a concrete bunker (Destroyed, not just empty), so naval guns should be able to do the job, I'd've thought. Are you sure the shells aren't bursting on overhead foliage? That can look like it's hitting home, when in fact it's doing significantly less damage than a direct hit. Might help explain the house, too, but I suspect it's just going to take more than 2 hits to completely drop some of the tougher (Modular) houses.

Oh, when you say "...many hits..." do you mean "...on the same bunker..." because, again, I wouldn't necessarily expect a single or couple of hits to be enough.

IIRC, the concrete pillboxes that were neutralized by the destroyer guns at Omaha were actually taken out by multiple near and direct hits degrading the bunker's foundation to the point that they collapsed. This sort of extended bombardment is not really within CM's scale.