Frustrating Learning Curve

I've played the tutorial campaigns, read the manual, played a half-dozen quick battles, and now I'm playing a couple of scenarios, and I keep getting wiped the f*** out, having to restart, rinse repeat. It seems I can only solve these puzzles by failing at every possible permutation.

I'm kind of having two problems: spotting, and understanding small arms damage/cover from small arms.

I'm only working on two scenarios, one I "cracked" and one I'm throwing my hand up in disgust at. Either might have been downloads (I downloaded tons of files before I started playing scenarios, so I don't know which are originals shipped with the base game).

Pleasantly Shaded Wood (cracked) and

A Delaying Action

"PSW" was an infantry only game, and I beat that on the third try simply because I figured out where the defenders were in the first two, and I stacked the deck for a cheap win in the third. I'll refer to this game because I got decent experience with small arms combat.

"A Delaying Action" is basically an open map with German AT defenses awaiting 4 Shermans and a company of infantry. It's driving me crazy.

Even with infantry and tanks moving together, I'm not seeing AT guns until they're blowing up a Sherman, and the AT guns are literally in the open. What does one have to do to spot something without holding up a 'shoot me' sign?

I'm a former tank crewman so I understand hull-down, bounding overwatch, buttoning up, etc., and I'm a veteran CM1 player (with many years break). I'm not just charging tanks around like this is an RTS. I'm getting really tired of tackling one layer of a defense, only to be shredded by the second and having to reload. It's destroying the real strategies of tackling scenarios.