Failure to Launch mystery

Both CMSF and CMA used to work fine. Then I stopped playing them when CMBN came out. Now I want to go back and play these games again... But I find neither will launch now.

Note that to avoid UAC problems and the "saved files to the ADMIN folder" issue, I installed (or copied - I forget which) both games to a C:/SIMS directory rather than the default "Program Files (x86)" directory over a year ago.

However, both games worked fine up until I started playing CMBN exclusively when it was released.

Is there something in the BF license system that expires if not regularly activated from the (x86) folder or something like that?

Will I need to unlicense and reinstall both games? Or, is there something else I can try?

Thanks...

CMBN uses a different copy-protection system from CMSF and CMA, which use eLicense. Installing and playing CMBN should NOT affect CMSF and CMA in any way that I'm aware of.

What exactly happens when you attempt to launch CMSF and CMA ? Has anything changed significantly about your system since you last played either game ? Certain hardware and operating system changes could 'invalidate' the activation for the games, such as changing the motherboard, CPU or possibly the video card. Reinstalling your OS could possibly cause problems with the registry settings for eLicense and also invalidate the activation.

eLicense games do NOT need to remain in contact with a license server or be played every-so-often for the license activation to remain valid. You DO need to contact the license server when initially activating and when unlicensing, but not at any time in-between to my knowledge.

If you go to Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services and look for the 'LicCtrl Service', is this 'Started' ? If not, right-click on the name and select 'Start'.