One shot from and IS2 kills two Wespes

I only started playing CMBB a few months ago - while waiting for CMBN to be released. I finally got FRAPS to work with it (newest version has a fix that makes it work).

Here is an amazing shot that happened in a QB I was playing with a friend. I was totally in control of things. My infantry supported by a platoon of Wespes was chewing up his infantry left and right. Then out of know where and IS2 showed up. The turn before the platoon HQ in the building next to the Wespes saw it coming and yelled down to warn the SP gunners. They immediately tried to reposition themselves to be ready for the coming threat. They were not fast enough:

After that things went down hill fast. His T34 on the other side of the board managed to take out the other two Wespes and slowly his infantry supported by the tanks ground me down. I spent the whole game trying to deal with those tanks and never got anywhere against them. I came close twice but my guys were just two messed up to get close enough to deliver the demo charges.

Well deserved punishment on a commander using self propelled artillery as assault gun in the frontline...eheh

If Wespes and Hummels ever get into contact with enemy armor, there went someting terribly wrong beforehand.

Imagine using Sextons and Priests vs. german Tigers in the same role.

That's what those IS2's have those big guns for. They were impressive in direct fire at soft targets, whether dug in or not. And Wespes are pretty soft stuff.

Wespes are self propelled artillery, not designed for direct fire. If they turn up on a CM battlefield, someone messed up.

Yes, one needs a huge map to use Wespes, Marders, Hummels and other lightly armored units effectively incl 88mm guns. They need to shoot from 1000m MINIMUM and preferably longer range.