Adding Romanian Infantry

Aglos

Hello,

I'm new to modding ToW, so please bear with me. Here is what I am trying to accomplish:

I would very much like to add a simple Romanian infantry squad to either ToW or ToW2. This will be a basic 8 to 10 man rifle squad. Nothing fancy to start with.

Here is what I have done so far:

I have downloaded the megamod pack and poked around in the various files trying to get a basic understanding of the file types and where they go/what they do.

I have read (and tried to comprehend) the tutorial on adding new units to the game. Still very confused here...

I have looked at existing units in the game ie: heir.ini, units.ini, etc. to see how they were created.

Now comes the trouble part.

Sadly, I am stumped at the very basics. I have no idea how or where to place the megamod pack files that I downloaded to even begin to add Romanians to the list of available soldiers. In other words, I don't understand how one gets the skins/models/etc into the game. I also have been having trouble figuring out how to use the SFS extractor and am not even sure if I need to use it since I believe I have all the model files and textures available to me in the downloaded megamod pack.

I think I understand how to edit and manipulate the various .ini files, but I am not sure which files need to be used for a simple infantry squad. Also, I have some very basic skill with graphics programs, so making things like the rank textures or awards shouldn't be a problem. I just don't know how to extract existing textures (such as the Russian ranks or awards) to see the dimensions of the texture so that I can make my own.

I have read and re-read the earlier posts by someone who was trying to do the very thing I am trying to do now, but it seems as if that person gave up and the fountain of information that was being presented dried up.