Flaws with CMBO

Hi,

I am new to CMBO, only recently obtaining the game on budget price.

Great game visually but it has some annoying fundamental faults.

Firstly it has no indirect fire capability unless you use spotters. No problem with spotters but omitting indirect fire without them is unrealistic.

Secondly its force organisation is unsophisicated. There is no organisation for armoured forces, not even a troop! So you end up throwing a mish-mash of tanks and self-propelled artillery together in an amauterish way. I've tried to over-ride this by trying to remember the real composition of armoured units.

What annoys me is the game declares its military accuracy strongly throughout the manual yet falls short badly on the above two counts. Visually it is a real delight. However time should have been spent making the AI less ponderous and over-cautious. Perhaps a function whereby you can set the offensive - defensive levels of the sides is needed, ensuring the opposition moves its arse when it is obviously tactically imperative to do so, rather than milling around sight seeing.

Are these faults rectified in the follow-up versions? If they are I would probably buy them.

cheers.

Originally posted by Xenophon:

Firstly it has no indirect fire capability unless you use spotters. No problem with spotters but omitting indirect fire without them is unrealistic.

I have been playing CM (starting with CMBO) for close to four years and I have used indirect fire often for infantry and on board mortars. For motars you can use platoon HQ's to spot for them. It was not included for the 105mm Artillery gun/25pound, etc. because of the short range of most maps is too short for it to be used in a realistic manner.