Graphical glitches

• 2 months later...

Sorry to resurrect this this old thread, but has anyone tried the new 191.07 drivers out yet?

I'm at work so I can't try them out for myself, but if someone has already given them a go, do they address the 'flashing buildings' bug that the 190 divers introduced (referenced in the link above)?

I have tested nearly all Geforce drivers from 181.xx to newest 191.xx. And 186 serie is the last one that does work with ambient lightning effect. Someting has been changed in the newer drivers. Bad luck, as many other programs performs better for me with 191 series drivers.

Thanks - I'm new to the wonders of Nvidia drivers, having been the owner of various ATI cards over the last 10 years or so.

I've rolled back to 186.18 now - I wasn't especially bothered by the flashing, but it can be headache-inducing on urban maps. I'd already been advised to roll back, but was being overly paranoid until now.

I've just disabled vertical sync and antialias and that option for quicker/better responses in the game menu and that has sped up things a lot, but it looks pretty poor now. So I will try it now with all off apart from the anti alias to see. I guess I could roll-back my drivers but I hate having to do that when they are fine for everything else.

As soon as you enable the multisampling option in the menu the game takes a huge performance hit! More than it should. So is this a problem with the engine or a problem with the Nvidia drivers?

There MIGHT be a solution to running newer 19x.xx drivers while having CMSF run the 186.xx drivers, if someone is willing to experiment...

With the 186.xx drivers installed go to C:\Windows\System32 and look for the file nvoglnt.dll and copy this file to your CMSF directory (where the CMSF executable is). POTENTIALLY this OpenGL ICD DLL file may run in place of the one in the System folder and allow you to have 186.xx's characteristics while running a 19x.xx driver for everything else.