Radeon HD4850 or GeForce 8800GT?

Hi folks, newbie here.

I just got a new custom-built computer last week and it has the ATI Radeon HD4850 video card in it.

I'm getting the whited-out text labels when I run any of the three Combat Mission games.

I've read the various threads regarding this issue.

Neither changing the anti-aliasing setting nor running the game in Win95/Win98 or any of the other modes has any effect. Minimizing and then maximizing the window also doesn't have any effect.

I'm running XP Home Edition with Service Pack #3 and I have no plans in the foreseeable future of having anything to do with Vista.

Questions:

The people that built my computer have indicated that they would be perfectly willing to exchange the ATI card with a GeForce 8800GT card - should I do it?

Will changing to the GeForce 8800GT card actually resolve the issue - in other words, is there anyone here who is running XP with the GeForce 8800GT card with no problems?

What are the chances that the graphics problem might be fixed with a future driver for the ATI card presently in my system?

Is there yet another comparable video card I should try instead of either of the above?

My system specs:

Windows XP Home Edition SP3

Intel 2 Quad CPU

Q9300 2.5GHz Motherboard

2GB RAM

and of course the ATI Radeon HD4850 video card

Any opinions and advice is appreciated - thanks.

Rob

I know I don't play the game you're playing, but I am on top of all things computer hardware-wise, so I feel compelled to tell you this: Don't exchange if you can help it. The Radeon HD 4850 is an incredible steal for the money, as CPU Mag noted:

"We don't expect the 4850 to keep up with Nvidia's recently released GeForce GTX 260, but two 4850s in CrossFire should give the GTX 260 a run for its money, at roughly the same price."