Just one little problem with a door in 1.06

1.06 brings all the positive things everyone has noted. I started playing Al Amarah, a scenario that had been very frustrating for me when I tried it right after buying the game, due to pathfinding problems of the vehicles and lack of AI with sense of self-preservation. All of that is incredibly improved.

I had just one little problem, illustrated in this exciting screen shot replay of one squad’s behavior:

2436696410100808906S600x600Q85.jpg

No---wait---that’s Sgt. Fury leading his “Howling Commandos” into another unfair match-up with the entire German army (unfair for the Germans, that is…). For more, see Marvel site:

http://www.marvel.com/digitalcomics/titles/Sgt~dot~_Fury_and_His_Howling_Commandos.1963

Okay, see next post for correct adventure…

Ah, here’s the adventure I wanted:

2059356320100808906S600x600Q85.jpg

(Note: the squad’s behavior and general location/environment is accurately presented; anything else is probably touched up a tad)

2862251740100808906S600x600Q85.jpg

2036061410100808906S600x600Q85.jpg

2629024160100808906S600x600Q85.jpg

2392762930100808906S600x600Q85.jpg

2402775530100808906S600x600Q85.jpg

2788722940100808906S600x600Q85.jpg

2345198980100808906S600x600Q85.jpg

Levity aside, with coaxing and very short orders I can get troops to reach the door, but they refuse to go through it, and given any leeway at all, go back to bounding off down the street to be slaughtered as they try to circle the block. I’m sure there’s some rule or attribute of buildings that I’m missing here….what is it?

RuhrRiver,

Have you tried this with a more complicated move? By this, I mean, run to the wall, then hunt into the first floor and then hunt to the second floor? I find that when I give a simple run from A to B, location above a first floor location that the squads get silly, like in your example.

funny i had similar expiriences in Al Amahra.