Colored Topografic Map(s)

Pandur

hi

since moon told me today that the "brief.bmp" maps are free to edit, after i asked about the possibility, i fired up paint and started right away.

the goal is to make the normaly white topografic maps colered, for a faster, and more comftable view of the map´s topografic properties.

i wasnt pleased with the plain whith, becouse you acually have to look at the height lines and stuff and thats not what a map is made for ;)

see yourself:

brief.jpg

(resized image of the first campain mission map)

its my first time doing such things in paint, so the colores may be somewhat of. it also took me about 3 1/2 houers for this map, so meybe the output for the other maps will be slow.

anyways, if someone wants to try it ingame(i cant, for the next 3 - 4 days) just drop your mail here, i will send it.

Pandur

EDIT:

s**t ! i looks like gmx got some problems righ now. IE also refuses to show me the picture. meybe i can find some other plac where i can host the image/file. i think i check out photobucket.

EDIT 2:

so i uploaded the file at photobucket. after resizing it looks somewhat messed up.

[ December 13, 2005, 10:46 AM: Message edited by: Pandur ]

Hi Pandur,

yes, the maps are free to edit. In fact, this applies to most game elements, provided that they are distributed free of charge (what is called "modding"). The game is VERY open to modding by the way, with most textures, sounds, even scripts, using open formats for easy editing.

One additional word about maps: when you follow the tutorials to make your own custom missions, a BMP "briefing" file is generated automatically. But after that, you can edit it as you like, allowing for some interesting possibilities, like drawing in phase lines, or even adding "fake" and incorrect information and so on...

Martin

hi

hehe i allready noticed this section smile.gif

i got the user missions from there.

about hosting this stuff;

there is one issue i see with this maps.