Anyone tried this yet? Procedure for defense...

I've been thinking about a logical way to set up defense assets. I'm pretty new to this game, so excuse me if it has already been covered.

From what I've seen so far, it's ultimatly infantry that will capture flags. The enemy usually uses tanks to supress and eliminate defending infantry, HMG's and Bunkers, not to take flags.

So, I guess it would make sense to set up anti-infantry defenses for each point, and in such a way, that they can only be hit from a very narrow corridor by enemy tanks. Then, I'd try to get my Anti-Tank Force lined up to defend these corridors, thus denying the enemy the option to support his infantry.

Someone earlier advised me about "keyholing". My problem is, I can not cleary see any keyholes on most maps yet. But maybe you can *create* keyholes by giving the enemy specific targets to work on?

Comments and your personal ideas would be appreciated. This game is a blast to learn, especially with the help of people that are in there a bit longer.

RS,

here's another thought for you, as a defender, what is your role ? is it to prevent your attacker from reaching Victory Locations (in such a manner as you described above) or as a defender, you are to delay your opponets for as long as possible until time runs out.

hmmmmm..... i was pondering about this when i lost to the AI twice in Tiger Tiger (as ruskies this time)

Placing infantry so that it blocks enemy infantry approches, but is out of LOS of long range tank fire and then have AT weapons to prevent the tanks from moving into LOS sounds good to me.

Some weaknesses of this approach can be exploited by the attacker.