M4 vs T-34: which is better?

A debate over which tank was better, M4 or T-34 started in a previous forum. It was an interesting discussion, and I'd like to continue it.

But just so it doesn't denegerate into a full scale name-calling contest, I'm thinking we should set parameters on judging tanks. I'm no armor expert, but I'm guessing a few would be:

- Speed

- Mobility

- Armor/Protection

- Armament/killing power

- Targetting/Optics

- Maintainability

- Production

- Cost

- Crew Survivability

- Reliability

- Looks (ok, that one is subjective)

- Features (plows, close-in defense systems, snorkels, etc)

Feel free to add any characteristics you think is important in judging a tank.

Opinions?

Phemur

I'll have to choose the T-34 because I like the way it looks. Also Russian tank design in general appeals to me somehow. I'll quote my army buddy: "Russian tanks look sexy". The M4 instead looks like a fat man with a small head. :D

Maybe I'll return to this topic later when I have something more intelligent to say. smile.gif

I think the Sherman had the greater ability for upgrades than the T-34, so it had the potential to be a far superior tank.

The Sherman, without massive redesign, could be (and was): Uparmoured on all plates, upgunned, with either ATGs or arty pieces

The T-34 was up armoured twice and upgunned once, twice if you include totally redesigning the turret.

- Speed - Off road T-34, on road Sherman

- Mobility - Until the HVSS suspension, T-34, after probably a wash.

- Armor/Protection - Front Sherman, sides T-34

- Armament/killing power - Sherman. 75 Sherman's gun is slightly better than T-34's 76. Sherman's 76 is slightly better than t-34's 85mm. Sherman's machine gun armament (the real infantry killer) is much better.

- Targetting/Optics- Sherman.

- Maintainability - Sherman.

- Production - Probably T-34, but I'm not sure.

- Cost - again, probably T-34