Help for new player as Allies in no bid game against veteran

I am playing the 1939 Fall Weiss campaign PBEM game as Allies with a friend who says he has played hundreds of games against the computer but never against a human opponent. It is Dec 41, he just attacked USSR after they prepared for war. He has 12 strength infantry, 11 strength planes, 11 strength ships, rocket units, but the tanks look like they are still 10s. Half the UK navy is gone, I am about to lose Egypt, France fell in a few turns (what can I say, I am still learning the rules), the UK has been lucky in research and I can make level 5 jets but I never have enough MPPs to make new units. Looking at the USSR, I don't see how it is possible to hold on, much less turn the tide with the Axis out producing me by a big margin and most of my units getting slaughtered before they could even move. I came to these message boards to see if there was some optimal strategy for the Allies, but it seems as if the consensus is that against a veteran Axis player you need a bid for an even game. Even if the US entered now (I think they are at 70% or something) I don't see how anything can happen other than a resounding defeat for the allies. So I am thinking of chucking it in, and asking for a new game with a bid. If I play Allies again, what would be a fair bid for a veteran Axis player to give me to make an even game? Also, are there any mods I should make in terms of other things like neutrality status or entry levels besides just changing initial MPPs?

Thanks much for any replies!

[ May 19, 2007, 08:10 PM: Message edited by: MichaelOrsus ]

You could invade Ireland early on in the war, landing a corps there after your airforce, battleships and carriers have beaten up the defenders of Dublin.

Don't invest so much in jets unless you've got a massive income. It sounds as though more troops in the Middle East would have been a good move, backed up with some cheaper planes!