Non combatants in SF

While not needed for the force on force fights....non combatants (both in vehicles and on foot) would be really really cool if included in CM3 or somehow written into the current game. No doubt this has been discussed since day one of SF1 but as I just started playing SF2 it is the first time I've encountered insurgents since my aborted attempt at SF1 nearly a decade ago. Non combatants could be used in partisan scenarios or 'evacuate the civilians' in WW2 as well. Not just unarmed squads btw. Just sayin'.

As I understand it from older discussions (this came up years ago), for philosophical reasons and I think also for brand image, BF has chosen not to include non-coms similarly to the way they have no 'blood & guts' when troops are killed - that to make this 'part of the fun' would be in bad taste and goes against their ethos.

Perhaps I have misstated it, but that was how I understood it.

53 minutes ago, Freyberg said:

for philosophical reasons and I think also for brand image, BF has chosen not to include non-coms similarly to the way they have no 'blood & guts' when troops are killed

You are correct.

@Attilaforfun, Shock force does have a civilian density setting that simulates the effect of civilians being present. Set high it makes the non uniformed enemy units harder to spot. This means if the enemy move in non threatening ways they can remain unnoticed for longer and get closer. Spys in particular benefit from this.

Edit to add - you may well have already been aware of this but for completeness for other reading...

Edited by IanL

22 hours ago, Attilaforfun said:

non combatants (both in vehicles and on foot) would be really really cool if included in CM3 

Non combatants could be used in partisan scenarios or 'evacuate the civilians' in WW2 as well.