Kinda frustrated

Hello,

I just bought this game.  I went through the tutorial and I really like it.  I'm quite new to this kind of tactical game.  Closest thing was Close Combat, many years ago.

I then tried a campaign and there are 100's of individual teams.  I'm pretty overwhelmed.  I then checked the scenerios.  Besides a couple small ones, there are many many teams in those too.  Are there any battles that have maybe 20-30 teams?  I can't seem to find any.  The game kinda seems to have you go from the very small tutorials, to huge, overwhelming battles.

To learn this game, learn the editor and make small battles that you feel comfortable with and interested in. It's easy to do, I started with small tank battles and then added infantry etc.. Small QBs are good too. But I think learning the editor might be more efficient in the long run. It should not take more than a few hours, given all the resources now available, to be playing a cool battle. 

Kevin

oh, and don't forget to 'cheat'.  if you play a scenario & get whupped early on, go to scenario editor & give yourself more tanks, artillery, or some such.  It's very easy to do & can get you enough success to start to build some confidence. 

when you say you got hundreds of individual teams...

i guess that you are playing the russians ? 

If this is so...you should know that HIGH numbers is what makes them russians...

i think that it is stated in the manual even...

'playing the russians you will be commanding one level up...if you as the americans, brittish or germans use a platoon to carry out an assignment...as the russians you will be using a company.

simularely in situations where others use a company the russians will be using a battalion...

this kind of results in a rather high unit count when playing the russians...

If you are not discurraged and feel that you can afford them...other titles...especially CMBN and CMFI usually have a somewhat smaller unit count in their scenarios IIRC...