Installing when no internet

Erwin

Am often traveling with no or slow internet.  What is the best way to install a CM2 game on a system with no internet?

Eg: When one downloads a CM2 product, can that be copied to a flash drive and installed from there?  Or, can one copy an installed CM2 game to a flash drive and then to another computer where there is no internet access?

Yes, you can copy the installer to a USB drive and install on other computers.

No, you cannot install to a USB drive and run it on other computers.

On any computer you install to you will have to activate it. There is no getting around that. I have never activated without internet access. So, I have no personal experience. I recommend that you contact support to get thier guidence if the activation instructions are not clear.

So even if one installs via a USB, one still needs internet to activate? 

Installing from a USB... does the "installer" contain the whole game - ie: one doesn't need to make any other large downloads(?).   That's the main concern when one has slow or dodgy internet.

The installer that you download has everything you need. So, it you have the full installer than you need no additional software.

Activation needs access to a server to verify your key. No significant download happens during this process. The DRM will squirrel away information on the computer you activate on in a separate location from the install itself.

If you have some kind of Internet access you can likely get the activation process to work. So, if you bring the downloaded installer with you on a USB drive you can likely succeed.

However there are a limited number of activations you can do with a given key. How many new computers are you planning to install on? Keep in mind that there is no unactivate process.