Isn't the M8 Howitzer supposed to be in the cavalry troop?

It is an omission, deliberate I think. The explanation when this came up before was that the M8 HMC was not committed at the front but provided support indirectly.

There are some other quirks of the Cav. Squadron OOB if memory serves. Unless I am mistaken, the company of M5 tanks is also missing.

Michael

25 minutes ago, Michael Emrys said:

It is an omission, deliberate I think. The explanation when this came up before was that the M8 HMC was not committed at the front but provided support indirectly.

I'm no expert, but according to the wiki:

"The 75 mm Howitzer Motor Carriage M8 was assigned to the Assault Gun Troops of Cavalry Reconnaissance Squadrons in order to give them close support against enemy fortified positions."

The source is this document that lists a cavalry assault gun troop:

http://www.militaryresearch.org/2-28 15Sep43.pdf

That sounds like it would be up on the front line? Or was it an indirect fire platform? If so, there are penty of other self propelled guns that were artillery pieces but also sometimes served as direct fire weapons. The M7 Priest for example.

25 minutes ago, Michael Emrys said:

There are some other quirks of the Cav. Squadron OOB if memory serves. Unless I am mistaken, the company of M5 tanks is also missing.

Yes, I can't find those either ... Why would they take them out if they were there in reality and are already in the game?

4 minutes ago, Bulletpoint said:

I'm no expert, but according to the wiki:

"The 75 mm Howitzer Motor Carriage M8 was assigned to the Assault Gun Troops of Cavalry Reconnaissance Squadrons in order to give them close support against enemy fortified positions."

The source is this document that lists a cavalry assault gun troop:

http://www.militaryresearch.org/2-28 15Sep43.pdf