WWII - sp. ATguns/TDs VS. tanks (in an infantry support role)

My recent H2H game taught me the differences between self-propelled ATguns (or tank-destroyers) and proper tanks in an infantry support role the hard way. I thought it would be interesting to discuss the topic and share some experiences here. If possible, though, I'd like to keep the discussion based on gameplay, not on real doctrines. I'm not really an expert, when it comes to definitions. For easyness' sake (disregarding that the two types discussed here were probably more differentiated based on their tactical and operational deployment rather than by technical intricacies?), let's just say that: 

• A tank has a turret and at least 1 MG (more often 1 turret and one hull MG). Most tanks in CM have ample supply of both, HE and AP ammo. In CM, it's usually much more expensive than a sp. ATgun
  • A sp. ATgun has no turret (and the traversable angle of the gun is often very limited) and no MG. Most sp. ATguns in CM are focused on AP ammo and carry only few HE rounds (with some exceptions, e.g. SU 76M). An ATgun is usually much cheaper than a tank.

Now a few thoughts:

• In an assault, you often want to lay down fire on several positions within a single turn at slightly varying angles to your vehicle's front. Because of its turret, the tank is so much better at this. As the whole vehicle needs to point in the direction of the shot, a spATg would need to approach in a curved, snake-like line or, alternatively, stand still for long intervalls to turn on its tracks. Any errors in planning the movement can be fatal, as the spATg might not fire at all if you fail to give it enough time to turn (pay attention to the turning stat of your vehicle!!). The tank, by contrast, can go in a straight line and fire at any angle.