Will there ever be a regular RTS control method?

I've tried to get into the game for years, (via the Normandy demo) but I keep bouncing off of it, mostly because of the abysmal controls. (The graphics are also pretty poor, but I can easily look past that) I've been playing games for 20 years, in every genre there is, but this game's camera and movement feels like an odd mix of control schemes, and none of them feel right.

Is there any chance this will ever be addressed?

Edited by Johnlondon125

When did you last try it? In one of the updates they added two new camera control schemes, one of which is labeled RTS. I'm not in front of the game ATM but in the options panel there is a way to change the camera control scheme.

I tried the other schemes and really don't understand the appeal, bloody confusing. I guess 'cause I'm used to the original controls.

I like the RTS camera because you can right click to bring up command menus rather than tapping the space bar all the time, unfortunately  the mouse wheel zooms in and out rather than changing height and it’s not something that can be adjusted in a text file. 

I don't believe my mousewheel is bound to anything unless I press it in. This is my hotkeys file. Ignore line of "////" below

////////////////////////////////////////////

// You can edit this file to modify various in-game functions and hot-key based commands. Use of special characters (shift, alt, control, numpad or function keys) is not permitted. The letter in <>'s (E,F or G) designates the language (English, French or German).

Command Keys Direct
//FAST
<E>,
//QUICK
<E>M
//MOVE
<E>N
//SLOW
<E>B
//HUNT
<E>L
//ASSAULT
<E>
//REVERSE
<E>G
//BLAST
<E>
//MARK MINES
<E>
//CLEAR MINES
<E>I
//HULL DOWN
<E>.
//TARGET
<E>T
//TARGET LIGHT
<E>Y
//TARGET ARC
<E>K
//CLEAR TARGET
<E>
//FACE
<E>R
//TARGET SMOKE
<E> 
//TARGET ARMOR ARC
<E>
//TARGET BRIEFLY
<E> 
//DEPLOY WEAPON
<E>/
//PAUSE
<E>P
//HIDE
<E>H
//DISMOUNT
<E>U
//BAIL OUT
<E> 
//OPEN UP
<E>O
//POP SMOKE