Firehead

Infantry Equipment Upgrade

Posted (edited)

I have taken the plunge into trying CMBS mods. I decided that I want to try something that nobody is really doing. Using the tools provided with the game, and the plugin for Blender created by sbobovyc my intent is to try and upgrade some of the models that you see in the game. To start this off, I decided to upgrade the pouches and gear that are found on US troops. I'm still learning, so forgive the rather amateur models. I didn't want to put a ton of detail into them, but maintain the same level that Battlefront as set forth to us.

GreQkuj.png
I will attempt to make a slightly more modernized chestrig, featuring a couple more pouches than what is found on current infantry. It will be based off the default chestrig simply to get the correct curvature of the soldier.
eACmRYN.png
Here I have decided to try and create a PRC-117G to replace the default RTO bag. The smaller size of that version is a little lighter than the one that is featured. In addition you won't normally find the sat antenna, but typically a whip.

Any suggestions or input are welcome. I'm absolutely terrible at texturing, so if anyone wants to help in that regards it would be greatly appreciated.

Edited by Firehead

Proof of concept:

AFE3BK3.png
I swapped all the hydration carriers for assault packs. This was a test to make sure I understood how to get the mod to correctly work with CM. Everything worked great. WIll update in the future.

56 minutes ago, HerrTom said:

Wow looks awesome.  Excited to see what you come up with!

Thanks! I'm not promising a lot, but I'm going to do my best. There is a ton to learn, and I'll be doing this pretty much on my own. It is all trial and error.

10 hours ago, Firehead said: