How accurate *is* CMBS?

robertiv

Hi all, relative Combat Mission newbie here. Black Sea is my first CM game, been playing for a couple months though.

I've learned in hindsight how different CMBS than the other titles, especially the WWII games. Modern tech & therefore tactics are much different, I'm just curious how much of this has been borne out in real-world experience. Specifically the deadliness of weapon systems which essentially make CMBS into a variation of hide & seek - if you get spotted, you're dead soon after.

Do we have detailed enough records of engagements (as opposed to the usual low-intensity shelling, etc) in the Ukraine conflict to get a sense how these game mechanics match up with reality?

I guess for me thus far CMBS, despite being well-crafted, is strangely unsatisfying. After thinking about it a little, IMO the root of that weakness is the contact system - as it exists, it doesn't effectively give the "feel" of an actual battle. The suspected contacts being represented solely by an icon just don't convey this for me, thus the battles seem kind of empty & sterile until something pops up and is immediately killed, it just doesn't feel very dynamic from the player's perspective.

I'm really really trying to like it though - if anyone's got tips or strategies to "get more out of it", feel free to share!

Edited by robertiv

Modern weapon systems are extremely lethal.

Using cover (not just concealment thanks to IR sights etc) is very important.

The WWII recon/spotting rules are even more imperative here. Never send a team anywhere a scout hasn't been.  Never send a squad anywhere a team hasn't been. Never send a platoon anywhere a squad hasn't been. Never send a vehicle anywhere infantry hasn't been and so on.