Force Ratios and difficulty level

ilhan89bln

Hi guys,

as some of you might have realized I am pretty new to the CM series and CMBS. I have a question in regards to force ratios in the battles and scenarios. This question was prompted by playing the battle Objective Delta.

I always play on Iron as I want the most realistic experience possible, but I have started to doubt that this is possible in the pre-made battles and scenarios. I am attacking with a reinforced Stryker platoon. So far, I have taken out 1 tank and 9 IFVs, which leads me to believe that I am at least up against a reinforced Russian motorized rifle company. This ratio is off, the attacker is outnumbering me 2:1, and even though I do have CAS and artillery available, this makes me wonder. Thinking as a PL attacking against an enemy in prepared positions that outnumbers me at least 2:1, in terrain that severely restricts my own maneuver, an enemy with weapons more capable than my Strykers (which are not amphibious and do not have ATGMs) and more artillery, and a time cap of only one hour, this mission seems to me like suicide. Yes, obviously it can happen in real life that I am tasked to attack a squad with my platoon and end up attacking a company defending out of prepared defenses, but that's when I radio to higher and tell them "hey, I have a company up against my platoon, I won't be able to do all this by myself". Any commander ordering a Stryker platoon to attack against a reinforced Russian motorized rifle company is just throwing men into the meatgrinder.

So to make matters short, it seems like the conditions seem way off in many battles and that leaves me wondering:
what am I missing? Am I getting this all wrong?

Cheers,

Ilhan