Afghanistan 11

I saw it a while ago and had no interest so I didn't bother paying any attention. How can a game at the operational/strategic level on Afghanistan and counter insurgency with less emphasis on combat and more on nation building and winning hearts and minds be?

Surprisingly well done and for its appearance of simplicity is apparently very difficult to do well from what I've heard so far.

I'm still new at it but from what I've seen so far really like it.

This is one of those games where you can stay up well into the night saying to yourself-just one more turn. It's also difficult and brutally so at anything past regular level. From what I've been able to gather the AI doesn't cheat. I have never agonized so much over the loss of a Chinook. Logistics has never been so much fun, challenging and frustrating. Every single thing you do can have a huge impact that often doesn't become apparent until later on oftentimes fatally so.

You can kill off dozens of militia and Taliban units and it will make no difference if you don't win the hearts and minds of the natives or suffer casualties and cause political dissent, which then paralyzes you. Once that happens then all it takes is for the militia or Taliban is to knock down a unit or 2 or cause casualties to one of your units and you're in a hole that you won't be able to dig yourself out of.

This game is pure genius.

31 minutes ago, Sgt.Squarehead said:

Sounds quite good.....How does it weigh up against Strategic Command in your opinion? 

The way you seem to feel about it is reminiscent of my own feelings about those titles.....'How can something this simple be this good?'.  B)