need purchase advice, aircraft or no

So, I'm not a modern player at all. Only played a few games against the AI and one PBEM. Starting a new QB PBEM with me attacking (Probe, actually) as the Yanks against the Soviets, er...I mean Russians. My opponent is a skilled player with a lot of experience playing Black Sea. I have a lot of WW2 CM experience, but not modern.

So, he set the weather to random, and it came up Thick Haze. It's a dawn attack. Looks like I get 16k+ points to purchase with. So.......should I buy any aircraft or drones, or would the Thick Haze make them useless (like it would in WW2)? I already know I'm probably in for a shellacking, but I don't want to waste purchase points.

CM%20Black%20Sea%202017-02-16%2016-48-22

Thick haze and dawn is certainly not ideal air support weather. Also there's no telling the level of electronic counter-measures (which could ground your air support) or purchased AA. Are you a betting man? Perhaps your opponent sees thick haze & dawn as a reason to NOT purchase any anti-aircraft units. Maybe his forces are meat on the table completely undefended. Because who in their right mind would purchase air under these conditions? ^_^

Hello Doug 

IMO CMBS Russian airplanes has the all-weather capability, isn't it? Correct me if I'm wrong. At least Su-24 and Su-34 are available in any weather condition according to the manual. But "available" is not "effective" so be cautious. Your pilots may unable to see any ground targets and fly away. 

I once tried Zala UAV in the heavy fog condition, and it detected some vehicles in the region (not all), but no soldiers. Plus, the most of vehicle detection was just unknown icon except one or two Abrams, meaning something is there but unable to recognize. And experience of Zala and Air controller also may effect on detection. Thick Haze would be slightly better than heavy fog IMO, but I guess you will see unknown icons...more or less.