Attacking dug-in germans?

So I am new to multiplayer CM, and not used to picking units nor am I a very good player. Anyway I've played a few games now were I have trouble taking strategic forests where my enemy is dug in. 

In my current game the woods have numerous trench facing my spawn direction filled with nasty german troops. On the back side of the woods is a bunker that is covering my approach to the objective. Basically if I avoid the woods, I am mowed down by a bunker/MG42 on it's back side, which can see across the narrow map. However taking the woods has just forced my troops into full "rattled" and retreats.

Is there particular equipment that is effecting in blasting through woods and trenchs? Also there is a huge variety of artillery which may have helped with the bunker (you can't see it until you are on the backside and pinned by a hail of bullets from various angles  so there would be no spotting, TRP only) is certain artillery better for effectively penetrating forests?

Demoralizing 

So that opening barrage I need soem TRP? What artillery would you advise?

Also what soviet units can fire smoke? My infantry battalion mortars don't appear to carry smoke which is a real bummer. I wasted a number of tank shells creating smoke/dust in the middle of a field, alas my men retreated due to other fire unrelated to bunker.