High calibre sniper rifles

GAZ NZ

There are five different types of US sniper rifle in the game (I think) up to an including the big Barrett .50 cal M107A1. Russia and Ukraine have one marksman type, the ubiquitous Russian SVD. That's the current state-of-play. things can change rapidly at this stage of the game.

I wouldn't want to be on the receiving end of a well trained marksman/sniper with an SVD.

I'm no expert, but the Russian small arms stuff, while not as sexy and high speed as the Western stuff is very effective and functional IMO.

I own and shoot a Daniels Defense M4V7 and used the M&P 15 and Colt AR15. I also have a AK47 and Saiga 7.62x39.

If I had to pick just one I would go with the AK47. Not saying it better and compared to the AR it has some shortcomings -not as many accessories and the magazine release is not as smooth, but the other strengths make it a fine weapon system to this day.

Until we get the game we won't know, but I would venture to guess that unless you have a situation where you're taking a 1000+ yard shot the SVD will be just as effective as the sexy Western stuff in game terms.

I haven't really kept track, but I'm guessing most infantry engagements will take place under 800 yards, but I could be off as I don't play Shock Force nearly as much as I do the WW2 stuff.

I was going on the list provided of equipment to be in game. I thought russian eqiupment was limited.

I shot F Class in New Zealand shooting out 1000 yards

in our nationals placing 3rd a few years back.

That was .308.

.338 is very dominating but expensive to use unless you are reloading.

The US sniper rifles would dominate range and acvuracy wise.

Im unsure if Russian rifles would use match loads or better loaded rounds (unlikely). So there accuracy would likely suffer out past 400 yards.

But In a long protracted war logistics and supply would be important. Russia has guns all firing similar rounds so makes supply easier.