CM: Korea?

Is something like this ever going to happen? I never understood why the 1950-1953 Korean conflict is so unpopular, maybe because it didn't have such a great impact on civilian life even back in the day.

But from a military view it always strikes me as amazingly interesting.

Essentially it appears to me as sort of much like the Eastern Front with UN troops as Germans and North Koreans and Chinese as Soviets on a smaller scale. For instance Frozen Chosin to me sounds very much like the winter battles in 1941-1942. Mostly the same equipment as in WW2 with a few more modern toys. Also, WW2-era Marines would be a debut to the CM series ;)

The strategic situation having been highly fluid (considering the entire country was fought over like what? 3 times?) it would make great for some great offensive and defensive scenarios for BOTH sides. I am by no means an expert on that war, but it appears to be quit managable from game developing standpoint. Relatively confined in terms of terrain and force involved (US Army, USMC, CPLA, KPLA + other UN forces and South Koreans that could be delivered in modules). Technological advances don't seem to have played such big role and were definately not as important as in WW2. I don't know about organizational changes during those three years, although only the first two might be really interesting for a tactical war game.

The most important question, off course, is, how much interest is there in such a game and if it would be profitable.

• Replies 122
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I used to work with a chap who was a Royal Marine in Korea. They had a Turkish unit beside them. The Reds could not move them even when they drove tanks over them. He thought they were the hardest troops in Korea and he had been at the Choisin reservoir as well.

Count me in because of brave Turkish soldiers will be coming in this game.

There was a Dutch battalion, too.